Album: Anaemic

Genre: Modern Death Metal

Release Date: April 6th, 2023

Country: Austria

Label: Black Sunset / MDD


Having been around for nearly 10 years now, Austrian death metal band DYSTERSOL are up to unleash their third album on April 6th, 2023, which is called “Anaemic” and tells the story of the rise and fall of a fictional serial killer. The narrative focuses mainly on how a person, negatively influenced and too often disappointed by his environment and society, becomes a psychopath.

This being said, the album opens with a short, mystical piano intro, before the band hits in with the first massive riff, pushed forward by the pummeling rhythmic. Soon, the razor sharp, harsh vocals join, expressively making obvious this story won’t be a lovely Sunday walk. 

DYSTERSOL's sound is mighty and haunting, with the low end firing on all cylinders, and while the tempo is mostly high, the music is very groovy nevertheless. All songs are powerful and straight-forward, with the mindblowing guitar work delivering the needed melody, and great, playful solos in between. Together, they take us through 10 tracks before making the circle round and closing "Anaemic" with another short, beautiful piano piece. 

With their third album, DYSTERSOL offer a full-grown, modern death metal beast. While the overall mood is dark and mighty, there is enough groove and melody into their playing to keep things interesting, and to make your head moving in metal-style soon. My favorites would be "Fail Better", "Shapeshifter" and "Niedergang" because of their great dynamic, but at the end of the day, "Anaemic" is best listened in its entirety. Crank it up! 

Written by Katha 


Lukas Hatzmann - Vocals

Gerhard Rosskogler - Guitar

Andreas Kienleitner - Guitar

Matthias Krenn - Bass

Matthias Rinner - Drums


1. Things To Come

2. Fail Better

3. In Dreams

4. Battering Ram

5. Mountain Of Death

6. Shapeshifter

7. Nailed To The Stars

8. Rainmaker

9. Soothsayer

10. Dollmaker

11. Niedergang

12. Into The Void 


Welcome The Dark Sun - 2014

The Fifth Age Of Man - 2018

Anaemic - 2023