Album: CAGE

Genre: Progmetal

Release Date: June 16th, 2023

Country: USA

Label: Self-Released


NY based progmetal band INFINITE SPECTRUM are back with a changed line-up (Alex Repetti & Alex Raykin are now joined by singer Will Shaw (Ayreon, Star One, DeadRisen)) and a new concept album, which (according to their website) features 8 guest vocalists, each representing a different character in an epic, mysterious story. Since there are not many further informations available about the plot or cast, let’s focus on the music. 

"An Unfamiliar Place" was the first single they released, but it left me a bit underwhelmed after the album announcement tbh, and is now the only skip track for me. Fortunately, “CAGE” comes along with nine other songs, offering a lot of guitar and keyboard wizardry, which gets its climax on the wonderful instrumental piece "They Walk Among Us", and also the drums deliver their varied part to the great whole. Other highlights would be the opener "Welcome to CAGE", "If Seeing is Believing" and the final "Conclude the Investigation". The different voices and vocal styles keep things interesting as well, so if you’re into progmetal in the veins of rock operas, this might be right up your alley.

Written by Katha (originally for The Progspace)