NEVERUS - Burdens of the Earth


Album: Burdens of the Earth

Genre: Majestic Death Metal

Release Date: April 21st, 2023

Country: Netherlands

Label: Self-Released


During last year’s Progpower Europe, a Dutch band called NEVERUS played their first show ever, and caught the audience by storm with their powerful music and entertaining performance. Nevertheless, we had to wait 6 more months for the release of their debut album, which is called “Burdens of the Earth”, and offers some serious listening fun. The general theme is about the balance of control between people and their surroundings, with each track taking a different perspective on this. 

Sonically, the songs are straight-forward, accessible yet diverse, presented with a mighty sound, great musicianship, and an infectious joy in their playing, especially during the guitar solos. The vocals switch effortlessly between full-sounding growls and clean, sometimes polyphonic singing. 

My favorites would be "Banish and Burn", "Lazarus" and "Temptation", but at the end of the day the album has a great dynamic when listened as a whole, also because of the instrumental, playful interludes that give moments to rest in between. So if this is “majestic death metal” (that’s how NEVERUS call their music), I like it a lot – Worth to crank it up!

Written by Katha (originally for The Progspace)


Jack Streat - Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Orchestrations 

Joris Sevat - Drums 



1. On This Mountain Peak

2. Banish and Burn

3. Calderian

4. Lazarus

5. From the North

6. Mournful March

7. One for Force

8. One for Blood

9. Send My Spirit High

10. Towards the Surface

11. Home

12. Temptation


Burdens of the Earth - 2023