Album: Coexist

Genre:  Progressive Metal

Release Date: December 29th 2020

Country: USA

Label: Self-Released


Publishing new music at the end of December is a venture, as unfortunately, these releases tend to be overlooked. I’m glad this didn’t happen to me with OCTAVISION’s debut album “Coexist” (December 29th 2020), as we have a treasure for prog lovers here. The driving force behind OCTAVISION is guitarist, composer and producer Hovak Alaverdyan, who worked on this project for over 10 years now. Searching for a unique sound, he managed to take special instruments and outstanding musicians on board, as there are Billy Sheehan and Victor Wooten on bass, Jeff Scott Soto (vocals), Murzo (keyboards), and drummer Roman Lomtadze.

The album starts with “Mindwar”, which marches in heavily pounding, drawing the listener into the seven minutes opener full of instrumental progmetal magic. The most striking element is the amazing guitar playing, alternating between powerful riffs and virtuosic runs. But of course way more happens: besides great keyboard and bass parts, a beautiful orchestration, and impressive drumming with many rhythm changes, you can hear a Blul, which is an Armenian traditional folk instrument. Its sound and musical scales might be a bit unusual at the beginning, but fit very well and bring in something mystical. All these ingredients are perfectly interwoven through the creative song writing.

I have to admit they caught me already at this point, but things have just started and develop further in an amazing way: “Coexist” and “Apocalyptus” are the only songs with vocals and no one less than Jeff Scott Soto behind the mic, who also wrote the lyrics. The other tracks are instrumental, with the same exciting variety and energy as the opener, but honestly, I don't want to go more detailed anymore, as this is music that should to be explored by oneself (which is highly recommended).   

The great finale comes with “So it Begins”, even though the title might be a bit strange for a closing track - Or is it the beginning of a new star, rising at the proggy sky? I'd say yes. “Coexist” is a fantastic debut album, which grabs your attention from the first listen, grows and gets stronger with every spin. The songs are sophisticated, with many tempo changes and complex passages, and all musicians can contribute their high technical skills. Nevertheless, the music is always accessible, and the excellent production rounds up the whole package. If you’re into bands like Symphony X or Sons of Apollo, OCTAVISION shouldn’t be missed in your collection. 

Written by Katha


Hovak Alaverdyan – Guitars

Jeff Scott Soto - Vocals

Victor Wooten - Bass

Billy Sheehan - Bass

Murzo - Keyboards

Roman Lomtadze - Drums

Avo Margaryan - Blul


1. Mindwar

2. Coexist

3. Proctagon

4. Apocalyptus

5. Three Lives

6. Stormbringer

7. So It Begins 



Coexist - 2020