THE GOD PARTICLE - Postcards From a Fallen Empire


Album: Postcards From a Fallen Empire

Genre: Progressive Melodeath

Release Date: August 14th, 2023

Country: Canada

Label: Self-Released


Canadian metal is incredibly strong at the moment, and here we go with another amazing representative: THE GOD PARTICLE, which started as a solo project of multi-instrumentalist and composer Jeff Sanna, but also features Chris Clancy (Mutiny Within) on vocals, as well as several, international guests like Dan Sugarman (Ice Nine Kills), Dirk Verbeuren (Megadeth) and Fred Riverin (I Legion) among others. “Postcards from a Fallen Empire” is their debut album, dealing with humanity’s own brutal history and the cyclical nature of how great empires eventually collapse, of which the stunning cover artwork already gives a first glimpse.

Musically speaking, they wander in the wide fields of progressive melodeath and metalcore with marvelous, heavy guitar work, a pushing yet varied playing rhythm section, and powerful growled and clean vocals, often supported by a cinematic orchestration, but there are also calmer, sometimes even pop influenced parts. Thanks to the creativity and flow in the song-writing, the musical story-telling works well, and the great production adds its part to a mighty, yet entertaining listening experience. Recommended to give it a spin \m/

Written by Katha (originally for The Progspace)


1. Arrival

2. Kill or be Killed

3. War of the Gods

4. Guillotine

5. Void

6. Harbinger

7. Somehow I Survived

8. Sacrifice

9. Departure