VICARIOUS - Esoteria


Album: Esoteria

Genre: Modern Progmetal

Release Date: January 19th, 2024

Country: USA

Label: Providence Records


Heading from Charlotte, North Carolina, Modern Progmetal band VICARIOUS found together nearly 10 years ago when the three members were still in high school. During the following period, while they lived far apart from each other, they managed to write music remotely, and now present their debut album, “Esoteria”, that is clearly characterized by various influences (like TesseracT, The Contortionist or Breaking Benjamin among others), but also by their ambitious, youthful playfulness. 

The final result might be best described as light-footed djent with some fusion impact, also offering dreamy parts as well as catchy melody lines to sing along. Even though they lose their focus every now and then over the full, 1 hour long playing time, this is still an impressive, diverse debut album, with the variety in their song-writing being best represented by the expressive "Clouds (Just Like Icarus)", the wonderful, instrumental fusion piece "52!", as well as the mesmerizing "False Alarm". But beware, this chorus could become your next earworm 😉

Written by Katha (originally for The Progspace)


1. Bend Don't Break

2. Clouds (Just Like Icarus)

3. The Others

4. 52!

5. False Alarm

6. Windowsill

7. Providence

8. Just Here

9. Esoteria

10. Exoteria

11. Sequoia

12. The Weight of Water


Brad Williamson - Bass / Lead Vocals

Colin Moser - Guitar / Vocals

Zach Winton - Drums